The following print resources relate to mediation. Resources located in the library include basic descriptions, call numbers, and are hyperlinked to the full Schmid Law Library catalog record for the item. Titles located in major databases also include basic descriptions and hyperlinks.
For print resources that address ADR generally, arbitration, or negotiation, please refer to the following pages:
Appellate Mediation: A Guidebook for Attorneys and Mediators by
This comprehensive book on appellate mediation serves as a guide for every appellate judge, lawyer, mediator, professor, or student engaged in the practice or study of appellate law.
The Complete Guide to Mediation: How to Effectively Represent Your Clients and Expand Your Family Law Practice by
It's been 20 years since the first edition of The Complete Guide to Mediation was published and there have been many developments in dispute resolution during this time. One major change is a growing acceptance and use of mediation within the family law field. With this in mind, the authors took great care to focus this book exclusively on the role and practice of family lawyers. This second edition of The Complete Guide to Mediation provides a multitude of strategies as well as resources for family lawyers to put into immediate use in their practices. This book will provide you with eye-opening proven strategies from experts on techniques such as the art of listening, collaboration, dissecting information, empathy, peacemaking, and reconciliation.
Mediation in a Nutshell by
This hornbook provides a comprehensive, yet concise examination of the primary aspects of mediation practice. In doing so, the book considers the legal, philosophical, policy, and practical issues surrounding mediation use. Matters include issues such as levels of participation in mediation, the enforceability of mediated agreements, regulation of practice including ethical issues, and a survey of the specialized applications of mediation. The extent and limits of confidentiality are examined along with consideration of the Uniform Mediation Act. Each chapter also contains an extensive bibliography and listing of the leading cases in each subject area.
The Mediation Process: Practical Strategies for Resolving Conflict by
The Fourth Edition of a seminal work in the field of mediation and conflict resolution For almost thirty years, conflict resolution practitioners, faculty, and students have depended on The Mediation Process as the all-inclusive guide to the discipline. The most comprehensive book written on mediation, this text is perfect for new and experienced conflict managers working in any area of dispute resolution--family, community, employment, business, environmental, public policy multicultural, or international. This is the expert's guide, and the Fourth Edition has been expanded and revised to keep pace with developments in the field. It includes new resources that will promote excellence in mediation and help disputants reach durable agreements and enhance their working relationships. Includes expanded information on the latest approaches for providing mediation assistance Features comprehensive guidelines for selecting the right strategy for both common and unique problems Utilizes updated, contemporary case studies of all types of disputes Offers expanded coverage of the growing field and practice of intercultural and international mediation.
Mediation Ethics: A Practitioner's Guide by
Mediation Ethics is aimed at lawyer-mediators who care about their clients, professions, and the general public and want to conduct mediation ethically. It takes a practical, concise, and coherent approach to mediation ethics to make lawyer-mediators aware of their ethical obligations while serving as mediators. Written by 15 leading mediation scholars, with special expertise in mediation ethics, each scholar contributes a chapter on a topic within his or her expertise. Each chapter provides a careful examination of a topic related to the practice of mediation and suggests ethical guidelines grounded in ethical theory, codes of conduct for mediators, and mediator ethics advisory committees' (MEAC) opinions. This book differs from and may supplement other available full-length books that cover mediation ethics. It focuses on specific ethical issues that arise in the mediation practice of lawyer-mediators. It addresses these issues in a developing order, from the beginning of the mediation to its end, enabling mediators to consult the topic relevant to them at any given point in time. It then provides concise ethical guidance through a diversified yet reasoned ethical approach grounded in ethical theory, codes of conduct for mediators, and ethics advisory opinions. The book's primary audience is lawyer mediators and mediators in general. It would also be useful to lawyers representing clients in mediation, administrative staff and mediators in ADR court programs, scholars and students in ADR academic programs, and mediator trainees and trainers.
Mediation: Law, Policy, & Practice by Guides users through alternative dispute resolution (ADR) options, such as arbitration and mediation. Offers a wealth of practical "how to" advice, including forms, checklists, examples, and drafting guidance.
Provides users with information about the processes of alternative dispute resolution (ADR) options, such as arbitration and mediation. Offers users insight into how to begin each process as well as draft agreements.
Chapter 16 focuses on Alternative Dispute Resolution within the employment sector in Nebraska, primarily mediation and arbitration. This publication is also available in print at the Schmid Law Library's circulation desk.
Also available in print on the second floor of the Schmid Law Library, Call Number: KF9084 .R642.
A comprehensive treatise that provides you with a comprehensive discussion of negotiation, mediation, arbitration, and other alternative dispute resolution processes, examining techniques, procedures, and underlying statutory and case law.