The following print resources relate to negotiations. Resources located in the library include basic descriptions, call numbers, and are hyperlinked to the full Schmid Law Library catalog record for the item. Titles located in major databases also include basic descriptions and hyperlinks.
For print resources that address ADR generally, arbitration, or mediation, please refer to the following pages:
Getting to Yes by
The key text on problem-solving negotiation-updated and revised Getting to Yes has helped millions of people learn a better way to negotiate. One of the primary business texts of the modern era, it is based on the work of the Harvard Negotiation Project. This group deals with all levels of negotiation and conflict resolution. Getting to Yes offers a proven, step-by-step strategy for reaching mutually acceptable agreements in every sort of conflict. Thoroughly updated and revised, it offers readers a straightforward, universally applicable method for negotiating personal and professional disputes without getting angry-or getting taken.
Legal Negotiation in a Nutshell by
Follows the entire process from opening negotiations to settlement. The hornbook first introduces negotiation in law practice and representing a client in legal negotiation. Covers the basic types of legal negotiations, case evaluation, and preparation. Also addresses the types of legal disputes that should not be negotiated. Examines negotiating styles, strategies, and tactics as well as the stages of legal negotiation.
Negotiation Essentials for Lawyers by
Negotiation Essentials for Lawyers is the one book that really puts lawyers' needs first when analyzing negotiation. The book takes the field's single most comprehensive reference as its starting point. But in Essentials, the same editors have not only persuaded dozens of contributing experts to boil down their findings to a length that responds to working lawyers' time pressures, but they have also insisted that the experts get practical. Every chapter in Essentials is built around the question "What do I do tomorrow to be more effective in this situation?" And not only are the answers frequently surprising, but they also come with clear warnings about when the advice given won't apply. No other book comes close to this level of help for a practicing lawyer when facing a typical or even downright strange negotiating problem.
Secrets of Power Negotiating by
Secrets of Power Negotiating covers every aspect of the negotiating process with practical, proven advice, from beginning steps to critical final moves: how to recognize unethical tactics, key principles of the Power Negotiating strategy, why money is not as important as everyone thinks, negotiating pressure points, understanding the other party and gaining the upper hand, and analyses of different negotiating styles.
A comprehensive treatise that provides you with a comprehensive discussion of negotiation, mediation, arbitration, and other alternative dispute resolution processes, examining techniques, procedures, and underlying statutory and case law.
Provides a collection of practical materials for corporate counsel on commonly used Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) techniques. It includes materials on arbitration (both domestic and international), negotiation, mini-trials, mediation, summary jury trials, ADR programs in place at various companies, resolving employment-related disputes, ADR providers, professional organizations, and Internet resources, resolving domain name disputes, and resolving Magnuson-Moss warranty disputes. It also provides sample forms and clauses.
This website is the scholarship dissemination arm of Mitchell Hamline School of Law’s Dispute Resolution Institute. It has published a variety of titles, including a series on Rethinking Negotiation Teaching, which allows for free chapter downloads from the website.