Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Researching a Seminar Paper: Periodicals

This guide is designed to help you research your seminar paper.

Finding Legal Periodicals

You can find law review articles in many places.  Several of these are listed below and can be found by using our A-Z database list.

Index to Legal Periodicals (ILP) can help you find articles on your topic. You can also use Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective, which will add coverage back to 1908.  

Index to Legal Periodical Literature 1786-1937 can help you find historical articles.

HeinOnline contains full-text PDF copies of articles going back to the first volume of many law reviews and law journals. They also have a "cited by" feature you can use to link to articles citing the article you are reading. HeinOnline also provides access to the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals

Lexis+ and Westlaw Edge also contain legal periodicals. 

If you find a citation to an article in online, but cannot find the full text of the article, check HeinOnline for a pdf copy or our library catalog for a print copy.

Tip: If you are looking for articles prior to the 1990's, you are better off using HeinOnline or one of the ILP databases.  The other resources do not have consistent coverage prior to that date.