Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A Couple Tricks for Finding Items in the Library
When looking for comparative law materials in the library, it is often helpful to browse the following call number ranges on the library shelves:
KD – KDK: United Kingdom
KF: United States
KG: Latin America
KH: South America
KJ – KKZ: Europe
KL – KWX: Asia and Eurasia, Africa, Pacific Area, and Antarctica
A complete outline of the call numbers related to law is available from the Library of Congress Web site:
In addition to call numbers, items in the library are assigned "subject headings." Subject headings are used to indicate the specific content of a given item. All items with similar content are assigned the same subject heading. You can easily find related items by searching the library catalog using the relevant subject heading. The following subject headings are commonly assigned to items that discuss comparative law issues:
Structure and Sources of Foreign Law
The following resources are especially helpful when learning the structure and function of the legal systems in foreign countries. These works are especially useful for locating authoritative sources of law for foreign countries. Several of the works in the "Encyclopedias" section of this guide are also useful for these purposes.
Germain's Transnational Law Research by
Publication Date: 1991-07-01
This resource is divided into three major sections. The first section describes procedural and practical issues in the practice of foreign and international law. Topics such as proof and pleading, and service of process are discussed. The second section of the book describes the practice of a number of specific legal areas within the international context. Issues such as commercial law, criminal law, and family law are discussed. The final section of the book examines the legal systems and processes in a number of different countries.
An Introduction to Foreign Legal Systems by
Publication Date: 1994
Includes chapters on a variety of legal systems including French, Mexican, Japanese, Chinese, and African. Also includes a number of helpful bibliographies and research guides.
Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new window
The Foreign Law Guide is a database offering relevant information on sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources in one virtual destination. Approximately 190 jurisdictions are systemically covered and updated by a global team of experts.
Access Information: Available on campus. Off campus access for UNL faculty, staff, and students only. Information for off campus access.
Guide to International Legal Research
This guide covers the full range of international legal research. The guide provides research direction for most countries. Specific chapters address space law and telecommunications research.