Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Comparative Law: Finding Journal Articles

Where is the full-text of the article?

When searching for articles in an index, sometimes all you will find is an abstract and a citation for the article. To locate the full-text of the article, there are several tools that you can use:

  1. Library Catalog and Electronic Journal Finder - use these tools to determine if the Schmid Law Library has access to the journal title either in print or in a digital format.
  2. Westlaw and LexisNexis - both provide full-text access to many journal titles. You cannot find what journals are available in Westlaw and LexisNexis by searching the Library Catalog/EJF; you must check WL and LN directly.
  3. Interlibrary Loan - see "I can't find the article anywhere! Now what?" below.

I Can't Find the Article Anywhere! Now what?

Sometimes you will locate the citation for an article that is unavailable through any resource at the Schmid Law Library. In these cases, you can still usually get the article. Kris Lauber, Interlibrary Loan librarian, will work with you to determine if the article can be obtained from another library. Kris is located in room 134, our you can email her the following form: Interlibrary Loan Form

Journal Searching Overview

Schmid Law Library provides access (both in print and electronically) to a number of journals and periodicals that address foreign and comparative law issues. Examples of comparative law journals include:

  • American Journal of Comparative Law
  • The International and Comparative Law Quarterly
  • The International Journal of Legal Information

 As with any topic, the most efficient way to locate journal articles regarding comparative law issues is by using a periodical index. The following resources include periodical index databases:

  • HeinOnline
  • LegalTrac
  • Index to Legal Periodicals
  • Westlaw
  • LexisNexis
  • Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
  • GoogleScholar

These resources are all available from the Schmid Law Library "Databases" Web page. HeinOnline includes a section specifically devoted to International and Non-U.S. Law Journals. In addition to this HeinOnline database, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals also focuses on foreign law issues.

Current issues of major comparative law journals

Content
content for the 2nd Tab
content for the last Tab