Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A number of resources discuss Native American treaties; a selection of those resources are available here.
Both the Schmid Law Library and Love Library have rich collections of print resources; those resources listed in the "Print Resources" column located at libraries other than the Schmid Law Library will have a designation with the call number indicating what library houses the resource. In addition to the resources listed on this page, a number of treatise are available via microforms; consult the online catalog for specific resources and contact a reference librarian for assistance in acquiring and using the microforms.
Please note it is not comprehensive and there may be other useful information available from other resources.
Need to brush up on some research skills? In addition to the information provided here, for a deeper dive into researching Native American treaty law take the Indian Treaties CALI exercise.
Bibliographies & Articles
Indian Treaties: A Bibliography
Beth DiFelice, 107 Law Library Journal 241 (2015).
ABSTRACT: This bibliography describes sources for research into treaties between the U.S. government and Indian tribes, focusing on primary sources. The sources are preceded by an
overview of the treaty process and the termination of the government's power to enter into treaties with Indian nations.
Caron Rollins: 15 Canadian Law Library 68 (1990).
From Introduction: The information in this bibliography was originally gathered for the preparation of a library guide for users of the John A. Weir Memorial Law Library. All material selected for inclusion is available at the Weir Law Library.
The "Other" Treaties: Comments on Deloria and DeMallie's Documents of American Indian Diplomacy
Charles D. Bernholz: 24 Legal Reference Services Quarterly 107 (2005).
Bernholz's article assesses the chapter, "Chronological List of Ratified or Valid and Operable Treaties" in Deloria and DeMallie's Documents of American Indian Diplomacy: Treaties, Agreements, and Conventions, 1775-1979.
American Indian Treaties Portal
This site is maintained by Charles D. Bernholz, retired UNL Government Documents Librarian.
Summary: To expedite access to the texts of American Indian treaties and to other relevant materials, the Portal incorporates a biography of Charles J. Kappler with links to the Oklahoma State University Library's electronic treaty collection; to the nine documents absent from that gathering; to the lexicon of the British and of the American transactions recognized by the Department of State; and to an array of digitized journal articles regarding cases before various jurisdictions that have cited one or more of these instruments.
This website was designed by the University of Nebraska's Center for Digital Research in the Humanities.
IDA (Indigenous Digital Archive) Treaties Explorer - AKA DigiTreaties
Containing 374 ratified treaties, this resource was created by the Museum of Indian Arts & Culture, Santa Fe, New Mexico in partnership with the US National Archives Office of Innovation and National Archives Foundation.
The scans of treaties cover a period from 1722 to 1869, and in some cases the treaties are accompanied by addition historical documents.