Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Army Military Working Dog Handler
This U.S. Army Web page assists those looking for a career or job as an army military working dog handler.
Department of Defense Military Working Dog Veterinary Service
"The Department of Defense Military Working Dog Veterinary Service (DoDMWDVS) is a subordinate unit under the U.S. Army Public Health Command that is responsible for comprehensive veterinary care for all military working dogs (MWD) at the DOD Dog Center at Lackland Air Force Base (AFB), Texas, as well as providing referral services to working dogs world-wide. Additionally, the DODAWDVS provides care for Transportation Security Administration (TSA) dogs undergoing training as part of the National Explosives Detection Canine Team Program, also located at Lackland AFB." Quotation from Director's Message page as it appears on 8/10/16.
Department of Defense: Military Working Dogs via Internet Archives
Although this information is no longer active on the DoD Website, this link will lead viewers to the material archived on Internet Archive's Wayback Machine.
Fact Sheet about 341st Training Squadron
This fact sheet provides the mission statement, vision, lineage, demographics and point of contact for the 341st training squadron at Lackland AFB.
Homeland Security: Explosive Detection Dog Teams
This page on the official site of the Department of Homeland Security briefly discusses explosive detection dog teams. It includes a section on strategic and preventative tactics and a section on history and training.
U.S. Customs and Border Protection: Canine Program
This page on the official site of the Department of Homeland Security discusses the canine program at U.S. Customs and Border Protection. It also provides links to a canine overview, canine disciplines, and canine center history.
Penn Vet Working Dog Center
"The Penn Vet Working Dog Center serves as a national research and development center for detection dogs." Quotation from the first paragraph of this page as it appears on June 15, 2017. This Web site provides additional links to pages, including those discussing their research, training and breeding, canine performance medicine.
Scientific Working Group on Dog and Orthogonal Detector Guidelines
"SWGDOG is a partnership of local, state, federal and international agencies including private vendors, law enforcement and first responders. We anticipate that establishing consensus based best practices for the use of detection teams will provide many benefits to local law enforcement and homeland security. Improving the consistency and performance of deployed teams and optimizing their combination with electronic detection devices will improve interdiction efforts as well as courtroom acceptance." Quotation from "About us" page as it appears on 8/10/16.
This American Life: 480 Animal Sacrifice
In this podcast, Act One: Semper Fido, discusses the use of military working dogs in World War II. A transcript, streaming audio, and photographs are available.
U.S. Quartermaster Foundation
This site contains a history of MWDs, articles, photographs and a bibliography.
U.S. War Dog Association
"The United States War Dogs Association, Inc. is a nonprofit organization of Former and Current US Military Dog Handlers and supporting members committed to promoting the long history of the Military Service Dogs, establishing permanent War Dog Memorials, and educating the public about the invaluable service of these canines to our country." Quotation from "About us" page as it appears on June 15, 2017. This site includes: a history of military working dogs, types of military working dogs, medical care programs, and adoptions.
US Air Force Police Alumni Association
This page discusses the military working dog program. It also contains photographs and videos.
Vietnam Dog Handler Association
The Vietnam Dog Handler Association has over 3,000 members. One of their original goals was to, "...never give up the search to re-unite veteran war dog handlers and honor the memory of their war dog partners." Quotation from the "About us" page as it appears on June 15, 2017. This Web site also contains a vast amount of information, including a list of war dogs and their dispositions, a list of war dog units, a memorial locator, and links to other sites.
War Dogs Reference Bibliography (U. S. Quartermaster Foundation)
"A resource page for books, magazine and newspaper articles on military dogs."