Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG): Secondary Resources

This guide will help you learn more about the International Sale of Goods.

Overview to secondary resources

This page includes information on locating additional secondary resources by consulting bibliographies, periodical indexes and databases, and searching library catalogs.

CISG bibliographies

Finding treatises and other books in the library

A number of treatises and books have been written on the CISG. Search the UNL library catalog using the phrase: United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (1980) to find some of these items. Search the WorldCat database with the same phrase to find works at other libraries.

Journal Searching Overview

Schmid Law Library provides access (both in print and electronically) to a number of journals and periodicals that include articles regarding the CISG. Examples of relevant law journals include:

  • The Journal of Law and Commerce
  • Pace International Law Review

Searching a periodical index is often the most efficient way to locate relevant journal articles. The following resources include periodical index databases as well as databases that provide access to the full-text of periodical articles:

  • HeinOnline
  • LegalTrac
  • Index to Legal Periodicals
  • WestlawNext
  • LexisNexis
  • Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
  • GoogleScholar
  • SSRN

These resources are all available from the Schmid Law Library "Research Tools" Web page. HeinOnline includes a section specifically devoted to International and Non-U.S. Law Journals. In addition to this HeinOnline database, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals also focuses on foreign law issues.

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar Search

Abbreviations

If you find a legal abbreviation that you do not understand, consult the following resources:

Prince's Bieber Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations.

  • This resource can be found in the Reference Collection (located behind the reference desk) at KF246.B46 2009.

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations

  •  "This database allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law."