Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG): CISG Case Law

This guide will help you learn more about the International Sale of Goods.

Start with Secondary Resources

As indicated in the "Secondary Resources" tab, the CISG and relevant case law have been thoroughly analyzed in a number of secondary resources including books, practitioner's guides, and periodical articles. Therefore when searching for relevant case law, consulting secondary resources is often an effective first step.

Consult the resources on this page to find additional case law.

Albert H. Kritzer CISG Database

The Institute of International Commercial Law at the Pace Law School maintains a comprehensive CISG database. The database includes many features that enable the researcher to effectively analyze, understand, and apply the CISG. Some of the features of the CISG database are covered in other parts of this LibGuide.

The CISG database provides access to over 2500 cases interpreting the CISG from many different jurisdicitions. The database includes numerous ways of locating relevant case law: cases organized by country, cases organized by CISG Article, cases organized by word descriptor, and a key word search form.

One of the most effective ways to utilize the database is to consult the CISG Annotated Table of Contents page. This page is organized by CISG article, allowing you to find materials related to the given provision.