Research Guides: International Gender Studies: Treatises, Books, Etc.

Finding Treatises, Books, etc.

Numerous treatises, books, and other specialized materials address international human rights and gender issues. Useful tools for locating such resources include:

Search LOC’s Global Legal Information Catalog
Search the UNL Library catalog
Search WorldCat
Keyword search in Google Books, HathiTrust, and Internet Archive

UNL Library Catalog

Advanced Catalog Search

Suggested Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH):

Human Rights
Child Labor
Human Trafficking
Gender Identity - law and legislation
Humanitarian Law

Locating Relevant LCSHs:

1. Locate a relevant item in the library catalog; in the catalog record for that item, refer to the "Subject" field.

2. Consult the LC Linked Data Service website

Locating Human Rights Materials in the Library:

Most items dealing with international human rights law are located in the call number range K 3236 – K 3268. By browsing the library shelf in this call number range, you will quickly get an overview of the books the Schmid law library has pertaining to IHR.

WorldCat

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The WorldCat database is the OCLC Online Union Catalog. It contains more than 43 million records describing items owned by our libraries or libraries around the world.

Access Information: Available on campus. Off campus access for UNL faculty, staff, and students only. Information for off campus access.

Google Books/HathiTrust/Internet Archive

Google Books
Google Books includes the full text of millions of books. Based on the copyright status of a given work, Google Books provides different view levels: full-view, limited preview, snippet view, and no preview.

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
"HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world." You can find some Congressional materials (like hearings) on this site.

Internet Archive E-Books and Texts Archive
The Internet Archive offers over 12,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 550,000 modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.

Interlibrary Loan

ILL Request Form

If you need a book or periodical that the Schmid Law Library does not own, you may request it through interlibrary loan. You may make a request by filling out the ILL request form. This process can take up to two weeks, depending on the item requested, so it is important to make these requests as soon as possible. If you have questions about interlibrary loan, please contact Kris Lauber. She can be reached at 402-472-8304 or klauber@unl.edu.