Available through the university’s online catalog and the Schmid Law Library homepage, these electronic resources provide references and full-text access to both legal and non-legal materials. Selected individual databases are listed below. Other resources related to specific, individual topics may be useful, so researchers should review the listings under the “Resources & Collections” link (UNL catalog) and the “Research Tools” box under the "Library Links" heading (Schmid Law Library).
To browse for resources more relevant to specific topics, from UNL Libraries' homepage (http://libraries.unl.edu), click on “Resources & Collections”, then select "Databases". From here, you can browse alphabetically or select the "Subject & Course Guides" link at the top of the page.
To browse for resources available through the Schmid Law Library (http://law.unl.edu/library), scroll to the bottom area of the page and click on the “Research Tools” link. From there, browse through alphabetical listings to see the materials available.
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "A" – “AAPG Datapages”
Description from UNL: "Geology and geoscience publications from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists. Primarily includes journal articles, books, and technical publications, including the AAPG Bulletin. (Full-Text)"
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "A" – “Academic Search Premier”
Description from UNL: “Contains articles from a wide range of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. (Full-Text and Abstracts)"
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "A" – “Acsess DL”
Description from UNL: “A complete collection of journal and ebook content published by the American Society of Agronomy, Crop Science Society of America, and Soil Science Society of America. (Full-Text)"
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "A" – “AgEcon Search”
Description from UNL: “Scholarly research in the fields of agricultural and applied economics, including agribusiness and food supply. Includes journal articles, books, working papers, technical reports, and conference proceedings. (Full-Text)”
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "A" – “Agricola”
Description from UNL: “Indexes books, articles, and other publications that cover all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including food and human nutrition, agricultural engineering and technology, and earth and environmental sciences. (Index and Abstracts)”
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "A" – “AGRIS”
Description from UNL: "Scholarly articles in the field of agricultural science and technology. (Index and Abstracts)"
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "A" – “ArticleFirst”
Description from UNL: "Index of journal articles in business, humanities, science, social sciences, and technology. (Index)"
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "A" – “ASABE Technical Library”
Description from UNL: "Engineering resources for agriculture, food, and biological systems. Includes technical papers, journal articles, textbooks, reference books, and standards. (Full-Text)"
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "B" – “BioOne Complete”
Description from UNL: "Journals covering the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. (Full-Text)"
Access via Schmid Law Library
Once on the homepage, on the left hand side, select "Practice Centers", then "Environmental & Safety"
This is one of the best resources to find current information about environmentally related issues, as well as to get insights on new and rising legal issues in the area of environmental law. Log in to Bloomberg to save your searches and set up regulatory alerts. In addition to the in-depth environmental law coverage, two specific areas in the Practice Area will be of interest: in the News box, click on the "Show More" link - see the "Water Law & Policy Monitor" - users can sign up for email updates as well as explore the topics discussed in this Monitor. The second area that may be of particular interest in located in the Practical Guidance box toward the bottom of the page: "Water Quality & Wetlands"; again explore the in-depth coverage available through this resource.
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "C" – “CABI: CAB Abstracts”
Description from UNL: "Journals, ebooks, conference proceedings, and reports on the applied life sciences, agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science, and nutrition. (Index)"
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "C" – “Conference Proceedings Citation Index”
Description from UNL: "Conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. (Index)"
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "C" – “CQ Researcher”
Description from UNL: "Professionally fact-checked reports on current events and important social issues. (Full-Text)"
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "C" – “Current Contents Connect”
Description from UNL: "Indexes the contents of scholarly journals and books across all disciplines. (Index)"
Last accessed 09.03.19
Access via https://waterforfood.nebraska.edu/
The Daugherty Water for Food Global Institute works to address the global challenge of achieving food security with less stress on water resources through water management in agricultural and food systems.
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "D" – “Directory of Open Access Journals”
Description from UNL: "Articles from open access, peer-reviewed journals in all subjects and languages. (Full-Text)"
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "D" –“Dissertations and Theses”
Description from UNL: Dissertations and theses from United States and international institutions. Access full text through interlibrary loan; some dissertations are also available free online. (Index)"
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "F" – “FAOSTAT”
Description from UNL: "International food and agriculture statistics, from the Food and Agriculture Organization at the United Nations. Topics include crops, trade, animal population, land use, and more. (Full-Text)"
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "F" –“Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide”
Description from UNL: "Journal articles and research on ichthyology, fisheries, aquaculture and aquatic and marine biology. Includes some major fish and fisheries databases, such as FISHLIT, Aquatic Biology Citations, Fishing Industry Research Index, and the Fisheries Review. (Full-Text and Index)"
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "G" –“GeoRef”
Description from UNL: "Journals, serials, maps, theses and dissertations, government publications, books, and reports in the fields of geology and geophysics, including information on energy sources, volcanic eruptions, earthquakes, groundwater pollution, nuclear reactor sites, landslides, and erosion, as well as the history of the earth, the structure of the earth, the study of ore deposits, and geostatistics. (Index)"
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "G" –“GreenFILE”
Description from UNL: "Journals, books, and other publications on the topics of climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. (Index)"
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "H" – “HathiTrust Digital Library”
Description from UNL: "Millions of digitized books, journals, and manuscripts from libraries around the world. (Full-Text)"
Access via Schmid Law Library
The Law Journal Library is comprised of over 2,000 law and law-related periodicals. In addition to access to legal periodical articles, other useful databases in this collection include the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) and the Federal Register (FR).
Access via Schmid Law Library
To access, select the "Research Tools" link, then – "I" –“Index to Legal Periodicals”
Description from UNL: "Index to Legal Periodicals and Books (1981 – present) and Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective (1918-1981). The Index to Legal Periodicals and Books indexes around 1000 leading legal journals, yearbooks, institutes, bar association journals, university publications and law reviews, and government publications from the United States, Puerto Rico, Great Britain, Ireland, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand. The database also indexes some 1,400 monographs per year. In addition there is the Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective that indexes over 500 legal periodicals back to 1918."
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "J" – “Journal Citation Reports (Web of Science)”
Description from UNL: "Information about academic journals in the sciences and social sciences, including impact factors, a measure that reflects the number of citations to articles published in a particular journal."
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "J" – “JSTOR”
Description from UNL: "Academic journals, books, and primary sources from many disciplines. Contains complete back runs of many journals; current issues are delayed by three to five years. (Full-Text)"
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "N" – “National Agricultural Statistics Service”
Description from UNL: "USDA statistics on food production, crop prices, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, demographics of U.S. producers, and much more."
Last accessed 09.03.19
Access via https://watercenter.unl.edu/
Part of the Daugherty Water for Food Global Institute, the Nebraska Water Center was established by Congressional Mandate in 1964. The Water Center focuses on helping the University of Nebraska become an international leader in water research, teaching, extension and outreach.
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "N" –“NewsBank Special Reports”
Description from UNL: "News articles on current events and topics of interest. (Full-Text)"
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "O" –“OECD Library”
Description from UNL: "Books, papers, and data on agriculture, education, employment, environment, finance, transport, and more. (Full-Text)"
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "S" – “Science Citation Index”
Description from UNL: "Journals, books, and conference papers in the sciences. (Index)"
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "S" –“SpringerLink”
Description from UNL: "Journals and books in the following fields: behavioral science, biomedical and life sciences, business and economics, chemistry and materials science, computer science, earth and environmental science, engineering, humanities, social sciences and law, mathematics, medicine, and physics and astronomy. (Full-Text)"
Access via http://ssrn.com
SSRN (Social Science Research Network) provides full text access to previously published and upcoming law review articles. Users can also access works in progress. An excellent resource to get both CURRENT and past scholarship on a wide range of topics.
Access via UNL’s online catalog
To access, click "Databases" link under the "Resources & Collections” link – "W" – “Web of Science”
Description from UNL: "Journal articles, books, and conference proceedings in all subject areas. (Index)"