Research Guides: Foreign Law Research: Sources of Law

Finding the Sources of Law for a Given Country - Overview

To locate sources of law for a given country, use a combination of the following resources:

Use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers)
Use Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH)
Consult a research guide:
1. Multi-jurisdictional research guides and bibliographies
2. Multi-jurisdictional foreign law web portals and research guides
3. Research guides/pathfinders for research in specific countries (remember research guides can be found in books, periodicals, and on the Web)

Best Bets (i.e. start with these resources):

Foreign Law Guide
Guide to International Legal Research
GlobaLex
Library of Congress Guide to Law Online

Library of Congress Subjects

Many library catalogs will allow you to search the catalog by subject heading (along with searching by title, author, or keyword). Some ways to take advantage of this more precise style of search are to select a subject search and:

Enter "Legal Research (insert country name)" to find legal research guides for a particular country.
Enter "Law (insert country name) bibliography" to find bibliographies on a specific country's legal system.
Enter "Law (insert country name)" to find general works on the laws of a specific country.
Enter "Constitutions" or "Constitutions (insert country name)" to find constitutions or the constitution of a specific country.

Library of Congress Call Numbers

Library of Congress call numbers related to legal materials:

KD – KDK: United Kingdom
KE: Canada
KF: United States
KG: Latin America
KH: South America
KJ – KKZ: Europe
KL – KWX: Asia and Eurasia, Africa, Pacific Area, and Antarctica

Library of Congress Classification Outline A complete outline of the Library of Congress classification for Class K (law)

Multi-jurisdictional Research Guides and Bibliographies

Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new window
The Foreign Law Guide is a database offering relevant information on sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources in one virtual destination. Approximately 190 jurisdictions are systemically covered and updated by a global team of experts.

Access Information: Available on campus. Off campus access for UNL faculty, staff, and students only. Information for off campus access.

Germain's Transnational Law Research: A Guide for Attorneys by Claire M. Germain
ISBN: 0929179315
Publication Date: 1991-
This resource is divided into three major sections. The first section describes procedural and practical issues in the practice of foreign and international law. Topics such as proof and pleading, and service of process are discussed. The second section of the book describes the practice of a number of specific legal areas within the international context. Issues such as commercial law, criminal law, and family law are discussed. The final section of the book examines the legal systems and processes in a number of different countries.
Guide to International Legal Research
This guide covers the full range of international legal research.

Library of Congress Resources

Library of Congress Foreign Law Research Guides
Library of Congress Global Legal Monitor
Library of Congress Guide to Law Online: Nations of the World
The Guide to Law Online is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law. It includes links to useful and reliable sites for legal information from international, multinational, foreign, federal, state, territorial, and tribal jurisdictions. The Guide focuses on sites offering the full texts of laws, regulations, and court decisions, along with commentary from lawyers writing primarily for other lawyers.

Foreign Law Research: Sources of Law

Finding the Sources of Law for a Given Country - Overview

Library of Congress Subjects

Library of Congress Call Numbers

Multi-jurisdictional Research Guides and Bibliographies

Library of Congress Resources

Foreign Law Portals