Research Guides: Copyright Law: Online Resources

Online Resources

Westlaw intellectual property materials can be found in these in three tabs:

Lexis intellectual property materials can be found in these tabs:

Bloomberg Law's Intellectual Property Practice Center includes coverage of

HeinOnline includes a very good historical collection of Intellectual Property Materials including legislative histories, articles and teaties

Websites

Berkman Center for Internet & Society

From Harvard University & Harvard Law School, "Exploring cyberspace, sharing in its study & pioneering its development"
Copyright & Music
From the Music Library at the Univ. of Wisconsin Milwaukee.
Copyright Infringement Project
Searchable by case and by song title, includes court decisions since the 1850s on music plagiarism. Joint project of UCLA Intellectual Property Project and Columbia Law School.
Copyright Resource Center
Music Publishers' Assn. website, focus on music and copyright.
Copyright Society of the United States
FAQ & Links includes useful links to websites.
Future of Music Coalition
National non-profit education, research and advocacy organization that identifies, examines, interprets and translates the challenging issues at the intersection of music, law, technology and policy.
Pew Internet & American Life Project
Highlights the internet's impact on music consumers, artists and the entertainment industry.
Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA)
Trade group that represents the U.S. recording industry. Includes reports on piracy, list of legal music websites, statistics on the recording industry, and a database of gold and platinum awards based on record sales.
Schomberg Center for Research in Black Culture
Holds Hip-Hop Research Collection, by Steven Hager. Not available online.
Stanford Copyright & Fair Use
Stanford Univ. Libraries site, includes overview of copyright law from Nolo, and recent cases and dockets.
U.S. Copyright Office
Official website, includes copyright records, laws, regulations and policy.